National Academy of Engineering Awards

The NAE call for nominations for the 2024-2025 awards and prizes will begin on January 1, 2024 and end on April 1, 2024.

The National Academy of Engineering salutes leaders in engineering for their lifetime dedication to their field and their commitment to advancing the human condition through great engineering achievement and/or through innovation in engineering and technology education. The NAE dedicates more than $1 million annually to recognize these leaders and to bring better understanding of the importance of engineering and engineering education to society.

The NAE currently presents seven awards for engineering achievement - the Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering, the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize, the Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education, the Simon Ramo Founders Award, the Arthur M. Bueche Award, the Gibbs Brothers Medal, and the J. C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering.

If you have any questions, please contact Deborah Young, Awards Program Manager at dyoung@nae.edu, (202) 334-1266, or refer to the 2024-2025 Awards Guide.

For more than three decades the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has been recognizing outstanding engineers for their dedication to their discipline as well as for their development of (or substantial involvement in) an engineering invention or process that has significantly contributed to technological progress, innovation in engineering education, or society’s well-being. The awards, which total more than $1 million annually, also enhance understanding of the importance of engineering to society.

Note to award nominators: Nominators of selected recipients for each prize are personally notified by the NAE Awards office. Recipients and nominators for the Draper, Russ, and Gordon Prizes are notified by the end of October, and recipients and nominators for the Ramo Founders, Bueche, Gibbs Brothers, and Hunsaker awards are notified by the mid-June. If you are a nominator and do not receive notification about your nominee(s) by these dates, you will receive notice from the NAE Awards office the following January as to whether the nomination was carried over for consideration in the next award cycle. You may also contact the NAE Awards office directly to ask about the status of your nomination.

NAE Online Award Process

1. Register (Non-Members only)

Click on the "Register" link and complete and submit the registration form.

2. Login

For Non-Members: select the Non-Member login button and enter your email and password.

3. Create

Create your online Nomination. For a list of required information and attachments, please review the 2024-2025 Awards Guide

v4. Save

During the Call for Nominations period, your nomination can be saved as DRAFT until all the required information is completed and attachments uploaded. As each section is complete, you will see a appear in the category tab when the Nomination is saved. Please ensure that all attachments are in Acrobat PDF format. At any time, you can download and print your Nomination by clicking on the icon in the Nomination Summary section.

5. Submit

On completion, save your Nomination as FINAL. Download and print a copy of your Nomination for your records by clicking on the icon in the Nomination Summary section in the right column. Note: If an update is required prior to the Call for Nominations period, you can make the update and resave as FINAL.

If you require assistance or additional information, please contact Deborah Young.

Award Guide

The NAE Awards Call for Nominations is now open.

Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering 

Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering - $500,000 Cash Award

Recognized as one of the world’s preeminent awards for engineering achievement, this prize honors an engineer whose accomplishment has significantly impacted society by improving quality of life, providing the ability to live freely and comfortably, and/or permitting access to information. The Draper Prize is awarded biennially and recognizes achievements in all engineering disciplines.

Previous Winners

Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize 

Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize - $500,000 Cash Award

Awarded biennially, the Russ Prize recognizes a bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition. This achievement should help the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to our health, well-being and quality of life. An auxiliary purpose of the Russ Prize is to encourage collaboration between the engineering and medical/biological disciplines and professions.

Previous Winners

Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education 

Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education - $500,000 Cash Award

The intent of the Gordon Prize, which is awarded annually, is to recognize new modalities and experiments in education that develop effective engineering leaders. The focus is on innovations such as curricular design, teaching methods, and technology-enabled learning that strengthen students’ capabilities and desire to grow into leadership roles.

Previous Winners

Simon Ramo Founders Award 

Simon Ramo Founders Award

This annual award honors an outstanding NAE member or international member who has upheld the ideals and principles of the NAE through professional, educational, and personal achievement and accomplishment.

Previous Winners

Arthur M. Bueche Award 

Arthur M. Bueche Award

The honor of this annual award is bestowed on an engineer who has shown dedication in science and technology, as well as active involvement in determining U.S. science and technology policy, promoting technological development, and contributing to the enhancement of the relationship between industries, government, and universities.

Previous Winners

Gibbs Brothers Medal 

Gibbs Brothers Medal - $20,000 Cash Award

This award is for outstanding contributions in the field of naval architecture and marine engineering. It was established through the Gibbs Brothers Fund by gift of William Francis Gibbs and Frederic H. Gibbs.

Previous Winners

J. C. Hunsaker Award - $50,000 Cash Award

J. C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering - $50,000 Cash Award

Established by Professor and Mrs. Jerome C. Hunsacker, this award honors excellence in the field of aeronautical engineering.

Previous Winners

Join the NAE Awards Mailing List

Join the NAE Awards mailing list to be notified of updates regarding the awards program.

Contact Us

National Academy of Engineering
NAE Awards
500 Fifth Street NW
Washington DC 20001
Phone: (202) 334-1266
Email:   awards@nae.edu
National Academy of Engineering